why can i not get a job? Watch

star_girl98
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi,

I am about to be 21 and I have never had a job before. I have sent so many job applications and all of them have been rejected. I have applied for places like Primark, Tesco, Next, Sports Direct, Superdry etc.

I don't have any experience and so my CV's a bit crap but my friends who have the same qualifications as me are getting interviews and jobs but when I try I get nothing back.

What am I doing wrong?
Any advice would be helpful.

Thank you
star_girl98
Rep:
?
I would just like to add that I am a full-time student studying Law at University and would like a job over summer.
AzureCeleste
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Probably something wrong with your CV.
How does that look? Have you had someone review it?
star_girl98
Rep:
?
My CV is pretty basic I only have a couple of GCSEs and 1 A-Level and 1 BTEC.

No, I haven't had someone review it. I was thinking about seeing the uni careers counsellor to check it out.
(Original post by AzureCeleste)
Probably something wrong with your CV.
How does that look? Have you had someone review it?
Last edited by star_girl98; 1 month ago
AzureCeleste
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by star_girl98)

No, I haven't had someone review it. I was thinking about seeing the uni careers counsellor to check it out.
Definitely get it reviewed. Do you have skills and extra-curriculars on it?
Any voluntary experience (may be worth doing some voluntary experience to add something to it if you have none)? Work experience?
harrysbar
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago

Yup, seeing a careers counsellor is your best bet since it is probably your CV that is the problem and they will review it for free and suggest improvements
star_girl98
Rep:
?
I've just put the law society on it. As for experience, I did NCS and police cadets.