How are CBSE scores interpreted in Australia and UK universities

Watch this thread
NCPC
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi
I am a grade 9 student. I am academically average student mostly score Bs in my grades. I have an option for taking the IB diploma or CBSE. I would prefer CBSE as I find the IB too abstract. However, what I have heard is that children with CBSE scores lose out when applying to UK/Australia uni's aompared to someone who has an IB score. Any idea if thats true. How does a foreign uni (australia/UK/Singapore) convert a cbse score during admission. I am looking at studying Economics or psychology. NOT interested in any Science stream. Advise appreciated
Admit-One
Badges: 21
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by NCPC)
Hi
I am a grade 9 student. I am academically average student mostly score Bs in my grades. I have an option for taking the IB diploma or CBSE. I would prefer CBSE as I find the IB too abstract. However, what I have heard is that children with CBSE scores lose out when applying to UK/Australia uni's aompared to someone who has an IB score. Any idea if thats true. How does a foreign uni (australia/UK/Singapore) convert a cbse score during admission. I am looking at studying Economics or psychology. NOT interested in any Science stream. Advise appreciated
Most decent Uni’s in the U.K. will accept Class XII CBSE results just fine. The only way you might ‘lose out’ is if you feel the grades being asked in the CBSE are more challenging than the IB offers for the same courses you are applying for. General, you will find that the IB is more universally accepted so it may keep more options open for you.