Are IGCSE's accepted by all UK universities? Watch

CB2019
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hi,
I'm a mature student from England, looking to get into publishing. I'm taking my Maths and English IGCSE's and then will be doing an access course and hopefully after that a degree . Will UK universities accept my IGCSEs as equivalent to GCSE? Also, will the two IGCSE's and an access course be enough?
Thanks.
claireestelle
  • Volunteer Section Leader
  • Peer Support Volunteers
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by CB2019)
Hi,
I'm a mature student from England, looking to get into publishing. I'm taking my Maths and English IGCSE's and then will be doing an access course and hopefully after that a degree . Will UK universities accept my IGCSEs as equivalent to GCSE? Also, will the two IGCSE's and an access course be enough?
Thanks.
Yes igcses are widely accepted, it depends where you want to study whether or not two would be enough.
SarcAndSpark
  • Careers Forum Helper
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Hi,
Thanks.
Yes, all UK universities will accept IGCSEs.

We can't say if the two IGCSEs and an access course will be enough without knowing the course and the type of uni you're aiming for. For most courses at most unis, it will be enough, but some unis will request e.g. A-level Maths for some courses.
CB2019
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Thanks guys, just a bit confused as it says GCSE English and Maths on the course page, but on the general entry requirements page it says 5 GCSE's. https://www.brookes.ac.uk/courses/un...nd-publishing/ is the course I am interested in.
(Original post by SarcAndSpark)
Yes, all UK universities will accept IGCSEs.

We can't say if the two IGCSEs and an access course will be enough without knowing the course and the type of uni you're aiming for. For most courses at most unis, it will be enough, but some unis will request e.g. A-level Maths for some courses.
SarcAndSpark