St. Andrews or Glasgow? Watch

eva1234567
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I’m an Irish student and have offers from uni of St Andrews and uni of Glasgow for biological sciences. Glasgow is asking for 589 leaving cert points (3 H1s and 3 H2s), while the other has asked for 560 points / 2 H1s specifically. I went to visit both of them, and really enjoyed both for different reasons.

Course: I’d be happy with either course, they’re both extremely flexible although I found that the professors at St Andrews seemed v enthusiastic and friendly. Didn’t get to see them at Glasgow as it wasn’t an open day, any insight into this?
Campus: I prefer Glasgow’s campus but do love the close community at St Andrews
Accommodation: more expensive at St. Andrews but higher quality it seems, also harder to find in later years than in Glasgow
Social/Student life: pretty hard to compare the two here, polar opposites. I love the city life/clubbing & nights out, but the closeness of St Andrews could be really unique, there’s all my life for a city if I need it. Would I be bored there? I’m really keen on the music scene in Glasgow too..
Reputation: I need more answers for this. I know st. andrews has the prestige but are they really that different for their biology or science courses? Since I’d probably like to do a masters, I do care about the reputation, but to put it in perspective Glasgow is still ranked a good bit higher than any of the Irish unis. (Although I know rankings can be inconsistent)

Would really love some other opinions. Parents really want me to go to St. andrews as it’s so safe and ‘prestigious’ and really want to hear another side! I’m sure i’ll be happy either way. Should I just firm Glasgow as it’s higher grades anyway?
thisisatrek
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Personally just rejected a St. Andrews offer because of it being such a small place, I recommend picking one where you’d be happier and not due to its prestige
eva1234567
Rep:
?