The Student Room Group

Quitting university to do youtube full time?

__
(edited 4 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by student277
Long story short, I am a third year student doing pharmacy (4 year course) and I am making more than enough money to make a living. Some months I can earn as much as 7k (Minimum 2k) so I dont see the point of studying anymore..Any thoughts??

Bad idea, unless you have a backup plan. Some even very popular channels can die quickly and unexpectedly.
Your decision is way too risky. What if in the future YouTube declines in popularity the same way social media sites such as Vines and MySpace has.

If I were you I'd complete the degree and the training period which comes after it, while still doing YouTube on the side. At least you know with completing your degree, you'd have something to fall back on, if anything happens to jeopardise your YouTube career.
That all depends on the type of person you are and how strongly you enjoy being a YouTuber as opposed to finishing your degree.
YouTube has a weird algorithm, meaning one week you could be consistently getting views and another week you'll get significantly less; meaning it's unpredictable for smaller channels.

If the only concern is that you're now making money then please don't quit university. Try and balance the two and finish your degree; that way, if Youtube goes south then you can go back to making a consistent living without having to worry.
If you are extremely confident with YouTube then by all means give it all of your attention.
Finish your degree so that you have a back-up plan. Even if you manage to make a living from YouTube, god knows how long it will last. Degrees are stressful, but don’t look for an easy way out.
Finish your degree. You'll need a back-up plan. It only takes one scandal to completely destroy a YouTubers career.