Hmsmith653
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
**Trigger warning **

Hi, my name is heather and im currently studying sciences to get qualifications to get into med school. I have had a troubled past and have deep scars on my wrist. Now I was thinking of maybe getting a tattoo to try and disguise it a bit. However, I heard tattoos are looked down upon, but having the scars would be negative also as they are visible. Can someone help me on a way to disguise or camouflage scars?
username4552968
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Tattoos should not be looked down upon, you have your own story as to why you would have them..
don’t do it for them, do it for you. Who cares what others think, if it’s a way of helping you move on, then that’s the most important thing.

Best wishes
CoolCavy
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
It's fine afaik, I've been seen by nurses with SH scars.
hmsmith655
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
em3fr thanks, im the one who asked the question, forgot the password already haha.
sfaraj
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
check out the gmc and uni guidelines as they do differ, tattoos in general i believe is fine but visible tattoos are difficult and so for many jobs like military having one below the elbow or wrist or whatever is a bit worse

i dont think it would be worse to have the scars on show, maybe if its uncomfortable for you then i fully understand and theres always the risk of it triggering a patient or colleague but if you are strong enough and stable to speak about it to those who question and can get through people staring then i dont think the lack of a tattoo would be that bad

there was a girl in my school who had deep scars and she overcame her struggle so wonderfully and now shes embraced her struggles and scars as her journey to getting to where she is now
hmsmith655
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Thank you everyone! 💕
EmRep13
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago