HUSSAI55
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 11 months ago
im an international student from Pakistan and i hoping to apply for biomedicine in 2020. Can someone please give me tips for how to apply and how to make myself stand out?
i will be really grateful for ur help
LuigiMario
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 11 months ago
Practise at home the various Oxford University entrance exams, ignore the websites trying to sell you these, I found quite few previous years exams online without paying anything. Then carefully read the Oxford colleges entrance requirements and regulations - that’s all you need.
HUSSAI55
Rep:
?
Also, how important are extracurriculars for oxford and what would you advise me to write in my personal statement?
thanks a lot
JackFu
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 11 months ago
(Original post by HUSSAI55)
Also, how important are extracurriculars for oxford and what would you advise me to write in my personal statement?
thanks a lot
I applied to Cambridge and the tips from the admission tutors were: (I assume it is going to be similar to Oxford)

Extracurriculars such as Duke of Edinburgh and sports are fine activities but they do not demonstrate academic capabilities, therefore, what they care about is super-curriculars which are academic activities such as an online course from "XX" university in your subject and write in your PS on why it helped you, interested you in the subject. The activities can also be essay competitions and etc.

Likewise, I think the best advice is to go on to the student room's personal statement section for your subject at Oxford and then see what the structure and activities are on other's statements.
LuigiMario
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 11 months ago