xHanaCakesx
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I applied for and have been accepted into several courses at Essex. I am so confused which one I should take. I'm so scared if I pick the wrong one. I'm so jealous right now of people who knew right away. Anyway, how did you decide? My choices are all within Sociology so how do people in that department feel the course is overall? What are you studying? Why did you choose that?
monkeyman0121
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I have no experience in any sociology courses, but I would just go to open days for specific courses or get in touch with someone on the courses. (Be it a student or a lecturer.)
Ayerf156
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I’m in a similar boat, really interested in the social anthropology course but can’t seem to find much about it online so unsure of whether to apply for straight up sociology instead... I’m yet to be able to go to an open day
sophiegreen28
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I'm planning on studying social anthropology in September. I kinda decided to take it because I don't know what I want to do in my life and I've found that anthropology as a whole is very broad and so you can literally do anything with it. I guess what the course covers depends which unis you are looking at so I definitely recommend going to open days, and going to the talks on your course and meet with the department representatives on the day to find out more about what they actually cover. You can also go on the uni website and go on the anthropology / social anthropology section and they usually give a full overview of the course over the 3 (or 4 if your considering Scotland) years you will be studying. I'm not 100% sure if I answered your question at all, but hope it was useful it some way!
(Original post by Ayerf156)