gmrm34
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi. so I am someone who struggles with finding a job. I have not worked for some years since leaving school, although I did have a couple part time/temp jobs. I really would like to get a proper job where I can earn money but I am having issue after issue. I am not very good at a CV, plus it needs to be changed for every job. and I do not know how to do a cover letter. Please do not mention job agencies as that did not work for me. Does anybody have any suggestions in particular, of companies where the CV is not the most important thing? Many thanks.
Ridgerunner
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Lots of companies rely on online application forms rather than CVs, but they are actually often far more detailed and extensive that a CV and covering letter is. Every application to any job still needs tailoring to the role you're applying for though, just using a generic document or answers won't get you anywhere so you need to accept that you'll spend a good deal of time changing your letter / cv / application statements for each job you apply for. You need to really convey your enthusiasm for the role, plus suitability and demonstrate that you have done your research on the organisation and the job itself. Do you have a friend or family member who can help with your CV? Failing that there are plenty of templates and examples online.

Lots of retail and basic jobs don't ask for much beyond qualification and work experience details, plus references. I'd start by going for one of these types of jobs even as a starter to whatever it is that you eventually want to pursue as it's so much easier to get a job when you're already working in one and demonstrating that you're a good employee than to get a job from the standpoint of never having worked. If you can't get a job role at all then spend time volunteering so that you can obtain a good reference that way.
gmrm34
Rep:
?