Cheap lentil hummus recipe Watch

Imilla
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
I cook constantly because I'm studying in Argentina and there aren't that many cheap ready meals here. So, I thought I'd share this recipe of mine to see what you lot think.

It's a kind of hummus, but made with lentils instead of chickpeas. I think it's a great recipe for students because the ingredients are pretty cheap and it's really quick and easy. Using lentils instead of chickpeas means you don't have to soak anything overnight. Using cooking oil instead of olive oil is loads cheaper but tastes just fine. I've skipped out the pine nuts lots of hummus recipes tell you to use because, although they're delicious sprinkled on top, they're really expensive. I also use a spoon of sesame seeds instead of tahini, which can be expensive and hard to find. This recipe also happens to be vegan.

Despite the slightly different ingredients, it still has that creamy, nutty and citrusy taste that regular hummus has. I know hummus is pretty cheap in UK supermarkets, but I often find it's watery and doesn't have much flavour unless you get the more expensive brands. Let me know what you think!

You need:
150g dried green lentils
2 cloves garlic
Half a lemon
Sesame seeds
Salt
Cooking oil

Blender
Pan and cooker
Knife

1) Boil the green lentils in plenty of water until they're pretty soft - takes about 20min with the lentils I get here.
2) While the lentils are on, peel and roughly chop the garlic cloves.
3) When the lentils are ready, drain them thoroughly and put them in the blender. Add the chopped garlic, half a teaspoon of salt, 100ml of cooking oil and a tablespoon of sesame seeds. Squeeze in the juice from the lemon - you can just squeeze with your hands, you don't need a juicer.
4) Mix the ingredients together in the blender until they make a smooth paste. If it looks too dry and crumbly, add more oil.