Alkanes with an excess of chlorine in the presence of UV light

Watch this thread
brettsullivan
Badges: 3
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I have a question on free radical reactions.

-why the propagation step happens. With propane and longer chained hydrocarbons anyways.
With propane I have been told that the species produced in the propagation step is C3H6Cl2.
^Why does this happen and why is it this specific species?

A bit off topic but why does this reaction not happen with other halogens, and why is it specific to chlorine?

I am an A level student so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Brett
ThatGuy107
Badges: 13
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 years ago
The CL-CL bond is weak, and therefore the UV has sufficient energy to cause homolytic fission of this bond, forming 2 Cl free radicals.
Jfueofkrnb
Badges: 10
Rep:
Report 3 years ago
Free radical substitution reactions can occur with any chlorine or bromine . Eg. Chlorination of methane, or bromination of ethane. This is when a hydrogen from a hydrocarbon chain is replaced with Cl or Br. Multiple substitutions can occur producing many products. If enough halogen is present, all the hydrogens in the hydrocarbon chain can be replaced.

For example: chlorination of methane
Chlorine is a diatomic molecules so exists as Cl2
UV light causes homolytic fission of a halogen molecule. This is when the covalent bond breaks and each atom receives one of the electrons from the covalent bond - this forms radicals.

Initiation Cl2 —> Cl• + Cl•
Propagation CH4 + Cl• —> CH3• + HCl
CH3• + Cl2 —> CH3Cl + Cl•
Termination 2Cl• —> Cl2
2CH3• —> C2H6
CH3• + Cl• —> CH3Cl
Here a mixture of products is produced by random collisions between radicals (radicals are very reactive)