Looking for thoughts on my available options for university Watch

zentico
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
So, I posted about what I might need to do as a lot of universities want GCSE Maths B and HE course. Although, I started calling pretty much all of the universities I might want to go to and spoke with admissions teams, tutors, and advisors.

Some of the universities will take me just based on my work experience, and others still say that I should go and do a HE course with Maths modules and also do a Maths GCSE. I'm stuck between the choices of either going directly onto a course, going to do a Foundation course, or do the HE and GCSE.

My thoughts being, it would be cheaper to go straight onto the course. However, I understand that it might actually be useful or beneficial to go and do a Maths related course before I go onto a computer science degree. What should I do?

I'm a mature student of about 27 and I actually already work in the field that I would be getting a degree for, so I could do an open degree etc or something like that and my company actually offers a degree apprenticeship in software development, but it's not the same degree as a computer science degree which is what I really want.

Let me know what you think, I appreciate any input or thoughts on it. My mindset isn't so much on the loss of income I'd take, I think I just want to go back and experience the entire aspect of university not just the learning, and that's not about partying as I don't drink. But the aspect of being able to study so much and network and meet other like minded individuals and get a greater in depth understanding of computer science.
adam271
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Like I said in the other post GCSE mathematics at grade B is only really an issue for the Russell Group universities.

Hull ask for C
Keele ask for C
Middlesex ask for C
Bath ask for C