MSc Computing vs MSc Computer Science Watch

Rehnskjold
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
Hey guys,

Bit of a weird one for you here, but I'm a BA graduate, looking into converting to a career in either Computing or CS.
Without having studied Comp Sci or Computing prior, my options seem pretty limited, but I've noticed that a few universities offer an online MSc in Computer Science. I've also noticed that these are not the same as most university's Advanced Computer Science masters, which are obviously aimed at Comp Sci/Computing BSc graduates. There is a Comp Sci MSc at Birmingham that is a taught programme, but the course overview seems the same as the online degree programme at York, basically just CS but without the AI elements. Both contain Machine Learning modules however.

So my question is this, what are the advantages of MSc Comp Sci over MSc Computing, and by taking an MSc in Comp Sci instead of MSc Advanced Comp Sci am I preemptively blackballing myself from employers? The same would stand for the online MSc offered by York, would I be at a disadvantage in the job market with an online degree, even if that degree is an MSc from the University of York?

Sorry if I kind of prattled on a bit too much, but thanks for any help you can offer.
Acsel
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
(Original post by Rehnskjold)
Hey guys,

Bit of a weird one for you here, but I'm a BA graduate, looking into converting to a career in either Computing or CS.