The role of external review of marking

Watch
username4414588
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi i had my work marked this week in my undergraduate first year degree, as im an international student and english not my first language, can someone explain in the most simple english that what is external review of marking and moderation and external examiner is also mentioned in feedback, Have asked my teachers but still can't understand,does it mean they will check if my work has serious problems such as plagiarism and stuff like that? what it has to do with the marks as i received it, would really appreciate....thank you very much
Last edited by username4414588; 1 year ago
amihalo
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
External examiners are academics from other universities. They review and scrutinise the standards of marking in a department. They ensure that the department is following their own marking procedures, that markers are marking correctly against the grade descriptors, that the marking is in line with other universities and that marking is fair and equitable. They would be expected to comment on whether departments are correctly addressing issues of academic misconduct, reasonable adjustment for disabilities and anything else that impacts on marking standards. As external examiners could recommend changes in marks, all marks should be considered provisional until after external examiner scrutiny and ratification by the board of examiners. They wouldn't be expected to investigate academic misconduct but may be asked to comment whether the department has followed the correct procedures if the department has found misconduct in a piece of work.
jonathanemptage
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Jesusmysaviour)