Anonymous_000
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I was wondering if medicine was more to do with biology or chemistry. I love chem and tend to spend more time on it, but recently Iv started showing more interest in both. I haven’t done well in either throughout the year in topic tests but that’s due to laziness and lack of effort. I hope to do well in my mocks and apply though a foundation year, when it comes to actually applying for medicine. Do you think that medicine contains more biology or chemistry? Is medicine much harder then a levels or is it just learning new things?
medstudent30
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Hi - I'm a first year medical student. There are no two ways about it that medicine is challenging but any degree is especially in your first year when you are getting used to new teaching methods and more independent studying and possibly living. What probably makes medicine differ from other courses is the vast volume of new words and concepts. However if you are willing to work hard and stay focused you will be able to succeed. Certainly in my medicine course, medicine is mainly biology based, perhaps if you are really enjoying both chemistry and biology so much you could consider biochemistry if you're not sure about medicine?
Hope this helps
Zarek
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I would say more biology than chemistry in concept, but there is a lot of biochemistry which is more chemistry than biology. Also chemistry seems to have a higher academic standing as a A level. I was surprised to meet a medical student who didnt have Biology A level - I lent her my A level text book. In truth you probably ideally want both.
username4637870
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Are you suggesting that one can become a Doctor without BIO?? Maybe they were doing access course?
(Original post by Zarek)