Job or university - which will give better prospects?

Watch
Chloe_maria08
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Ok so I just need some advice really on what the best option would be for the career I am interested in. I would like to be a youth worker or have some sort of job working with disadvantaged families/children.

I have applied for university to study a BA Hons in Youth and Community Work and received an unconditional offer (I already have the grades). I have also applied for a support apprentice which is in a similar setting, however I had my interview for the apprenticeship and I didn't enjoy it as much I first thought. I was told that employment isn't guaranteed at the end of the 12 months, and I know there is 4 positions available, therefore when applying for a job in that field afterwards with the same company there would be a lot of competition.

I have researched and now understand that I can never be a fully qualified youth worker unless I have a degree recognised by the National Youth Agency (the degree I have an offer for is recognised). However, my only worry is that there have been recent cuts in this area which could impact me in the future.

So does anybody have any advice on what the best option is? I think I am certain of what would be best, however I would just like to hear another person's perspective. Any help is appreciated, thank you.
Neilos
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I have no knowledge of the sector at all but I'd go for the degree. From what you've said it sounds like it would open far more doors in the future - even if you end up working outside the specific field you've currently chosen. Apprenticeships can be better sometimes but if, after 12 months, you face a highly competitive battle to even gain an entry level position... that doesn't sound great to me.

Also worth considering that there's a good chance the recent cuts will (I think) eventually be reversed as austerity ends.
Chloe_maria08
Badges: 9
Rep:
?