The Student Room Group

Applying for Comp Sci with no work experience

Hi creatures of the internet,
I want to apply for Computer Science but I haven't done anything like WE and I have never been in any school position of power (officer/house captain/head girl) or done anything outside of reading and MOOCs because of social anxiety. Just thinking about this makes me nervous.
I am doing one club which involves public speaking and teamwork, but apart from that I have never done any extracurricular activities since primary school (not even at GCSE).
I am currently in year 12 and I am an international student so any WE during the holidays would be hard to do in England, and I don't want to do it either.
I was wondering if only talking about further reading, MOOCs and small computing projects (as well as my comp sci GCSE and as-level) will be enough to get a place at unis like ICL, UCL, Warwick, and uni of Gloucestershire (my backup option btw)?
I have done WE back in year 10 because it was compulsory but it was in graphic design and I barely talked or asked for help and generally felt super awkward and scared.
Being independent and almost a legal adult scares me a lot and I honestly feel like I would rather die than go to the doctor or the bank by myself.
Any thoughts?

Edit: thanks, your replies really cheer me up. I just wanted to add that I go to a boarding school and so I already do know how to live in communal spaces, do laundry, go to the shops, make basic meals etc by myself. The big problem for me really is more formal things like doctors appointments, going to the bank, formal public speaking, and things like that. I'm really not sure why they put me off so much since it is human interaction like other things I already do...
(edited 4 years ago)
You don’t need work experience for an academic degree like computer science.