Penguin Spaceman
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm in my first year on an industrial placement course. I didn't organize my workload appropriately and fell short on a lot of coursework. Right now, It looks like I'm going to end up with a 2:2 at best (If I somehow average 80% across all papers, I might get a first). On top of that, I have minimum to no experience and this has made it remarkably difficult to get a summer internship.

I am planning on working on a couple of projects all through the summer, but given that I start to apply for placements next year, with my current experience, I think it's going to be incredibly difficult to get a position even If I fill it up with projects. For this reason, I'm considering a switch from a year in industry course to a year abroad course.

I guess given my circumstances, the answer is obvious, but getting other perspectives couldn't hurt. How difficult would It be to get a placement with the current state of my CV, what would you suggest I do this summer or through next year to build a quality portfolio, how much would a 2:2 matter for recruitment and would you suggest I go with the switch?
winterscoming
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Don't judge your chances at finding a 12-month placement on your experience trying to find a summer internship. Summer internships are far less common. Employers tend to be far less willing to hire people into summer internships because they're not long enough to be worthwhile unless the student already has a fairly strong technical background.

The problem boils down to the fact that 3-4 months over the summer isn't long enough for someone in your position to train up to a point where you'd actually be productive during that time, so it's not worth the time/effort that the employer would be putting into your training and mentoring -- you'd spend several months learning the ropes and then be leaving them a few weeks later.