Is taking a course at Uni solely because you enjoy it a good idea? Watch

TheNamesBond.
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
I'm studying Philosophy as one of my A-Levels and it's really the only thing I enjoy studying, it doesn't even feel like work when I'm revising or jotting down notes, I'm in Year 12 and I've been thinking really hard lately about what I want to do at Uni, I've searched Unis around me and I've looked over courses and read over the content, modules for example, I can only see myself studying Philosophy.

I can't be sure if it's right though because I don't know what I'll do after, really not sure about this choice, I won't be starting next year anyway so I'm not applying this year then, which is a decision I've come to since I don't want to rush into Uni, I'd rather take a year out, save up, figure out what I want to do, you know, get my head straight.
wolfmoon88
  • Universities Forum Helper
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by TheNamesBond.)
I'm studying Philosophy as one of my A-Levels and it's really the only thing I enjoy studying, it doesn't even feel like work when I'm revising or jotting down notes, I'm in Year 12 and I've been thinking really hard lately about what I want to do at Uni, I've searched Unis around me and I've looked over courses and read over the content, modules for example, I can only see myself studying Philosophy.

I can't be sure if it's right though because I don't know what I'll do after, really not sure about this choice, I won't be starting next year anyway so I'm not applying this year then, which is a decision I've come to since I don't want to rush into Uni, I'd rather take a year out, save up, figure out what I want to do, you know, get my head straight.
You will only really do well (get something out of it) if you truly enjoy it so in that sense it is definitely not a bad idea. Not rushing into university is also a great decision, definitely take some time to think about it.