Art Foundation Year for International Student? Watch

kayanderson
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I plan on applying to American universities for animation (eg. RISD, Calarts, USC), but I wanted to do a foundation year first, because I currently live in an area where I don't have access to a good artistic community. I am thinking of doing a diagnostic course because I want to check to see if I really am interested in animation.

I feel like a foundation year can be like a gap year for me, because many courses only require three days a week of attendance, and as I have never been to London, I feel like this could be an opportunity for me to experience an entirely different culture and environment. I am an international student in Asia, but am an American citizen, having grown up in the US for more than a decade. Currently I'm in IB Year 2, taking VA, but the teacher is not very experienced/good.

Would it be a good idea to do an art foundation course and then apply to an American university, or would it somehow hurt my chances? Especially since I am international student, would the added cost be worth it? I have never had the experience of being able to put art before academics, which is why I am excited to apply to a foundation course.
kayanderson
Rep:
?
Also, I forgot to mention that I'll most likely need to take a job to cover some expenses, so does anyone know about how that works in terms of visas?
MediaMel
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Hi kayanderson,

What a great plan! Looks like you've already thought about a lot of things ahead of uni.