Questions about A-level exam process-intl student Watch

doglover56
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 days ago
Hello

I am an international student who is looking to take the A-level exams (Maths, further maths, and history) next year so I can hopefully go to university in UK. I am going to be doing this as a private candidate at an exam centre.

I am very confused about how the examination process works :/

For further maths, if I understand correctly, I must choose between statistics, decision maths, and mechanics? Do I do this as well for maths? Please if someone could explain the course structure for maths and further maths it would be very helpful

Since I will be sitting these exams privately, I will not be taking the modules for these a levels. Are these modules required for me to receive at least one A* in my a level results?

Is it possible to get A* as a private candidate? Because I looked at the information online and it said something related to a Uniform Mark Scale...and I don't quite understand this.

I would really appreciate help. Thank you
Last edited by doglover56; 5 days ago
DarleneChrist
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 5 days ago
Are you teaching yourself or do you have a tutor? Which examination board (Cambridge, Aqa, Edexcel)? If you are taking Cambridge, maths or further maths, is no joke!! There's no way you can pass without being tutored for the longest time. If you are taking History for A level, I suggest you pick non science subjects along with it. They are much easier (i'm doing them) to get A or A* grades. UK Universities only care about grades more than choice of subjects.
(Original post by doglover56)
Hello

I am an international student who is looking to take the A-level exams (Maths, further maths, and history) next year so I can hopefully go to university in UK. I am going to be doing this as a private candidate at an exam centre.

I am very confused about how the examination process works :/