Arshdeep212
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi Everyone,

Its more like a discussion topic instead of a question. I have been reading a lot on the internet about the comparison and how some people don't think CIPFA is as hard or useful as other professional qualifications. I now have worked at two different organisations who provide ACCA/ CIPFA support.
I have a degree in Accounting and Finance, which gave me 9 exemptions. My first job after graduating was Graduate Finance Trainee at a University. This is where I finally met other trainees who were studying towards ACCA and working full time. One thing I noticed, that they all were struggling a bit because university being a public organisation, not giving much time off to trainees for revision or classes. However, I never got to apply for ACCA funding from the university as I left the university within 4 months (Due to some personal issues).
I now work in a Local Authority, who only provides support for CIPFA. and in my personal experience I would say I now prefer doing CIPFA over ACCA for the reason of how much support I am getting compared to my previous trainee colleagues (and there is another reason, you will read below). In no ways CIPFA is any easier than ACCA. Another thing people always say "its hard for a CIPFA trainee to move to private sector". I know so many people working in big private companies like EY who are CIPFA qualified. I think, it's all about if you know the right time or place to apply for jobs.
Another thing that I could hardly find any information about was the link between CIPFA and CIMA. So here I am sharing my information-

If you are CIPFA qualified, you can get up to 14 CIMA exemptions. Anyone wants to know in any more detail, here is the link

https://www.cimaglobal.com/Starting-...CIPFA-Members/