Post graduate medical degree with an arts degree Watch

jamie1432
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I am a law student in my penultimate year, predicted a first and have the 3 sciences at higher level with AAAAABB. I’m fairly sure law is an arts degree. Is there anyone who has gotten in with an arts degree to medicine as a post graduate? Can you give me advice aside from work experience to strengthen my application?

Thank you!
Royal Oak
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by jamie1432)
I am a law student in my penultimate year, predicted a first and have the 3 sciences at higher level with AAAAABB. I’m fairly sure law is an arts degree. Is there anyone who has gotten in with an arts degree to medicine as a post graduate? Can you give me advice aside from work experience to strengthen my application?

Thank you!
- Apply to med schools which accept all degrees.
- Do well in the admissions exams.
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
As above, there are GEM courses that don't require a STEM degree (e.g. Warwick and Cambridge), however most that don't require a STEM degree will require either a) some equivalent to A-levels in chemistry and another science (usually biology); an approved Access to Medicine course can be acceptable for this or b) that you take the GAMSAT. An Access course or applying only to GAMSAT courses would probably be the cheapest options compared to sitting A-levels after your degree, as they normally require you to take the science endorsement as well which can be pricey.