Car accident (is it my fault?) Watch

Mya Neagle
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I was in a car accident today.
2 of my friends were in the lanes to go straight ahead, and the 3rd was in the lane to go right. The friend going right had just passed and had a Green P plate.
My friend in my car and I said “let’s move lanes he probably doesn’t know where he is going”!
All the lights are red.
I put my indicator on to move right (into the lane going straight ahead). I had good observation and no cars were in sight.
I’m travelling 5mph to move right , I then see this car travelling probably 30 to 40 mph.
The lights then turn green.
The front of my car hits the side of this Citroen.
They have marks and a small dent, and my car had a few marks.
I passed in March and got car insurance with more than smart wheels in April. My insurance is £1200.
What will happen to my insurance, and who’s fault do you think it is ?
Btw I’m a really good driver and this is my first crash, I passed with 2 minors.
Mosinwywyeye
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Hm okay. So you switched lanes and hit the car infront? Its hard to say what your insurance will be like but it will most definitely go up regardless of fault. Also it doesn't matter how many minors you got in your test to determine if you're a good driver.
I think according to the information you've given id have to say its your fault although i maybe wrong
StriderHort
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Sounds both a bit at fault, but you more so (plus you're the one trying to change lanes, onus is more on you). You either had 'Really good observation and there were no cars' or 'you hit a car that you pulled into the path of' It can't be both. MY boss does that 'lane hopping' at sets of lights and it causes no end of trouble, people REALLY don't like it)

(C'mon....'Really Good Driver'? You've been on the road barely 8 weeks and likely caused an accident due to backseat driving )
YaliaV
Badges: 20
Rep:
?