EPQ help Watch

Confused Person
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
I want to do an EPQ, and I've been told to do it on a subject I'm passionate about. I am studying maths, chemistry and physics for A level, and hope to do physics and astrophysics at university. However, I am really passionate about the Lord of the Rings books/films by JRR Tolkien and I would love to do an EPQ on "Women and Diversity in Tolkien's books" as it is a topic which I could talk about for hours. However, it is so far from my subjects I'm wondering if it would be foolish to do it? Or good as it shows a variety of interests? Any advice would be appreciated.
- Thanks!
Deggs_14
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
No what you have is a great idea and you should stick with it. An EPQ is somehting you should be passionate about and the fact that you can talk about it for hours is very good already!
Last edited by Deggs_14; 3 weeks ago
Confused Person
Rep:
?
(Original post by Deggs_14)
No what you have is a great idea and you should stick with it. An EPQ is somehting you should be passizonage about and the fact that you can talk about it for hours is very good already!
Thank you. I just worry unis will be looking for subject related EPQs
Archetypally
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
I targetted my EPQ specifically at my university choices in a subject area I wasn't particularly passionate about, but knew would look good on my personal statement. I'm sure doing something you're genuinely passionate about will make it more enjoyable, but it doesn't necessarily guarantee success. However, on the flipside, if you are a bit of a procrastinator, I knew the subject area fairly well, so I was able to do it a week before the deadline without running into too many issues. If this is the same for you on the Tolkien idea, then this might actually prove more beneficial.
Deggs_14
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by Confused Person)