liaente
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I can't seem to find a clear answer for this anywhere for me to understand.
I'm studying homeostasis right now and I am a little confused.
For combined contraceptive pills, they contain a synthetic oestrogen and progesterone.
Since progesterone inhibits FSH & LH, why is oestrogen needed? I mean isn't that ironic? Oestrogen stimulates LH so...why is it needed as well?
xmpj.Tx
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Maybe it’s to do with their roles in maintanence of the uterus lining since only giving progesterone would mean it maintaining a lining which never grew ?? Also fairly certain oestrogen is needed for other things besides menstruation so maybe it’s to do with keeping oestrogen levels up as well as egg release inhibition?? Not too sure, best guess with rev guide in hand , sorry if it’s confusing /wrong
liaente
Rep:
?
It's alright, I admire your help I usually don't get replies for these kinds of questions.
(Original post by xY.mpj.Tx)
Maybe it’s to do with their roles in maintanence of the uterus lining since only giving progesterone would mean it maintaining a lining which never grew ?? Also fairly certain oestrogen is needed for other things besides menstruation so maybe it’s to do with keeping oestrogen levels up as well as egg release inhibition?? Not too sure, best guess with rev guide in hand , sorry if it’s confusing /wrong
GDO10
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Oestrogen inhibits FSH production, meaning the egg cannot develop for egg release
liaente
Rep:
?
Ahaaa, that makes more sense. It stimulates LH but there's no egg to release as it hasn't matured - thank you
(Original post by GDO10)
Oestrogen inhibits FSH production, meaning the egg cannot develop for egg release
liaente
Rep:
?
I found an answer if anyone one day has this question: