Went through a red light and cleared a junction to move for police car.

Watch
Sandzy
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
So a police car come behind me so i moved passed the white line and the lights were on red but after the police car gone i went and drove away while the lights were still on red simply because i was in the middle of a road and if did stay there it would be dangerous for oncoming cars. It was about 1:30 in the morning im scared incase i got caught but I couldn’t do anything the best thing was to clear the junction. Theres wasent any cars in view but the way my car was it was dangerous if cars were to come im really stressed about it incase ive been caught i only tried to do the right thing please help. I even rang 101 to tell them the situation i cant afford to have 3 points on my license im a new driver and its really got me down
S.Toner
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
there will be cctv of the incident more than likely so if anything were to come up you could easily contest it that and the fact your 101 call will have been recorded works in your favour as well just make sure you write down dates and times just incase but I wouldn't worry
nevershear
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
You'd have a chance of getting away with it if you ever got an NIP and contested it in court, but generally I won't move, because on paper it's not considered an acceptable reason to run a red.
Sandzy
Rep:
?
I had to move for the police because he was literally on my bumper and I couldn’t just sit in the middle of the junction where a dual carriageway ends its got my head killing incase i get caught but if i do i wont be standing for it i done what was best and I wasent just going to sit in the middle of the road.
Sandzy
Rep:
?
I hope i havent been caught the lights I originally went through did not have a camera its the ones when i come off the roundabout that had the cameras
(Original post by S.Toner)