The Student Room Group

securing a training contract for an overseas student

Hi to everyone,

I am an overseas student who very soon is going to embark on my PhD in law and I was wondering what are the chances of getting a training contract after having completed the PhD? By the time I finish my PhD I will be 33 years old, does this fact reduce my chances?
thanks
Reply 1
Under UK legislation you don't need to disclose your age and it shouldn't matter at all.

I think your chances will basically be based on grades, work experience and how rounded you are like everyone else. There are a few books online which are good and give you loads of advice - best one I've read was called 'The Training Contract Bible' from Amazon.

Either way just keep applying and sure you'll get at least an interview.
Thank you very much for your reply, that’s really helpful 🙂
Age is not allowed to play a factor, but who really knows what goes on behind closed doors? In my intake, we had one guy who had had a 10-year career in the FCO before moving over to corporate law for his training. He was 36 when we started our TCs.

(Unrelated - He immediately went back to the FCO upon qualifying - can't say that was a shocker.)
Thanks for you replies, so hopefully based on these information there is always a chance of securing a TC. But another concern is that as far as I know many big international law firms recruit potential trainees via vacation schemes, though some firms don’t, but this practice seems to be prevalent especially amongst the US law firms operating worldwide, and is it true that an overseas student won’t be eligible for such a vacation scheme due to visa restrictions, I.e. working hours limit ? Do you know any other way of getting a TC, I mean if I didn’t use this vacation scheme route, would it be still possible to apply?
Thank you very much
Original post by arrowhead