namjoonisasnack
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
What is Film Studies A-level like?
What is the course like?
Any sort of information would be appreciated?
iiDeedo
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
If you have a very strong (very very very strong) passion for film making and the desire to study more about the film industry I think it’s a great subject to study.Personally I only liked film from the brief passion of film you have by watching movies. I committed to studying a level film and I regret it with my whole heart. It’s a subject that only students who are pursuing a career in the arts field should consider and not those of academic subjects, it’s almost a waste of a subject if your going off to uni to study business, law or medicine.
beachbaby
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Just offering a different perspective! I studied Film at A Level and got an A, then went onto study it at University and graduated with a 1st. I loved it. It's really theoretical and not just watching movies. I know at 6th Form a lot of people signed up to it because they thought it'd just be watching films all the time - not so!

You definitely do spend time watching films and considering the different elements at play (style / narrative etc). The most interesting part of film studies though, is looking at social / historical contexts and theories etc. At least it was for me! You'll find Film at A Level is a really good vehicle to explore tons of other subjects. You'll use an analytical approach not too dissimilar to what you'd use when studying literature. I studied English Lit alongside Film, and I constantly found concepts from each creeping into the other.

Hope that helps!
student424
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago