Libbysmith31
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hello! I am currently a Year 12 student taking English Lit, Sociology and History (taking History as a degree!)
I am currently in the process of deciding on an English coursework title and book to study (we only study one book while others may do comparison between the two) In preparation, I have read around seven books, none of which really captured my eye or gave me any incentive to write an essay about them. However, I then remembered a book I read a few years ago called The Storyteller by Antonia Michaelis (it is an original German book translated into English) I remember absolutely adoring its dark and sinister themes, the plot twists, the characters and the style of writing used by Michaelis. I re- read it a few weeks ago and fell equally in love once more, prompting my decision to make it my coursework prose for this essay. I have what I believe to be the perfect question: "Within The Storyteller, "the hero himself may be the villain." Employing narrative ideas, to what extent do you agree? (the quote used is from the AQA critical anthology)
I have planned this question thoroughly, and I really want to do this book as my prose piece. My only problem is that this book is completely unknown. Neither of my teachers have read it, none of my friends, and there aren't many reviews or essays on it that can be helpfully used in my own essay. I know that I could answer the question well (I can generally manage A*'s in English) but I'm worried that I would be penalised for using such a niche and unknown book (despite how amazing it is and the fact that I believe it deserves to be more well-known)
I guess my question is: should I risk it and write about something I genuinely love and could get a lot out of or should I play it safe and write about one of the other, less thrilling books I read a few weeks ago?
I would really appreciate some help here!
Kind regards, Libby x
amyemxx
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago