Application to Organizational Psychology - Rejected at City

Watch
Trotter77
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi,

I applied to the graduate programme in organizational psychology to a few schools in UK and I received a prompt rejection from the department this week. Although I have reached out to the university to clarify what my application lacked, i have not received any response from them.

I am a mature student. My references are all professional since it has been over 10 years that i completed my undergrad studies. In my last role i was working as a manager in a consulting firm. Perhaps it is also worth mentioning that I am an international student. A year ago I left my work and decided to teach students in a remote part of the country, take the GRE and apply for a masters programme. I have no formal experience in research or psychology, I studied literature, but my professional experience is in the realm of organizational learning and development which is directly related to the field. I have a plethora of knowledge that I can bring to a college at this point. The essays that I wrote were vetted by my seniors at work and a few friends who studied clinical psychology and nearly all of them agreed that it had substance. Moreover, they were written from the heart, so I am extremely bummed by the rejection and also anxious about my remaining applications. Do any of you have experience in applying for this course at City or elsewhere? Do they necessarily need a high GPA and a formal training in Psychology? Or can significant work experience cover for a bad grade in undergrad which you received over ten years ago? Any advice would help.
threeportdrift
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Trotter77)
Hi,