can you sit an A level in one year? Watch

_katie.lawlor
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 days ago
hey guys - this is my first time posting to a forum woo!

my current situation is that I'm studying A level chemistry, biology and English language, as I'd hoped to go to uni to do medicine (which requires biology and chemistry). I did well at the GCSEs and was under the impression that the A level content would not be significantly harder than the GCSE content.

in reality, I seriously hate the chemistry course with a burning passion; it makes me so unhappy as I'm constantly not doing well in it (i haven't achieved higher than a C all year). my struggles in the sciences have forced me to change my degree choice of medicine to alternatives like biomedical sciences and neuroscience, as I'm just not getting the grades that medicine requires.

what I'm wondering is whether I am able to drop my chemistry A level after only one year, and take up a new A level that I'll have to squeeze into next year if that makes sense? I want to choose a course that really interests me and that I'm likely to do well in, as this gives me a better chance of getting better predicted and achieved grades for uni (which would definitely beat the ABC/ACC that I'm currently looking at.)

my new degree choices require at least ABB and only for me to take biology, so dropping chemistry seems like a no-brainer as it really drags me down and is ruining my college experience.

if anyone could let me know whether sitting a full A level in the space of one year is possible I would be really grateful! thank you!
Mustafa0605
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 6 days ago
(Original post by _katie.lawlor)
hey guys - this is my first time posting to a forum woo!