How do I force myself to focus? Watch

abbie d
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 months ago
I realise this is probably a common question but I feel like I've tried absolutely everything and it's still not working. I've had to resit some of my exams (second year uni) and I don't know what happens if I fail, every time I think about it it just makes me panic so I'm trying not to, but every time I try and revise I just. can. not. focus.

I've tried listening to music, being in complete silence, removing all distractions, taking gingko biloba pills, etc. I'm studying at home away from uni as it's technically summer break right now, so study groups aren't an option.

It really feels like even if I completely disable the internet and lock myself in a room with only a textbook and a pen I would still end up doing something else or simply staring into space rather than actually study. And I want to study! There's literally nothing I wanna do more than pass this year and move on to the next but I can't. And my exams are in two weeks. Does anyone have any other advice? At this point I will try literally anything.

Interea
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 8 months ago
I find that it helps to start off just trying to do anything. Sat down to do work and lost focus after 3 minutes? Doesn't matter, that's still 3 minutes of work you hadn't done before. I'd still recommend being in complete silence and removing all distractions, but at least for the first couple of days, just let yourself do what you can before losing focus.