Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I'm Victor and I'm currently studying medicine (preclinical training) in Germany? I would like to know if there are any possibilities to continue in the UK? Or perhaps, if I can transfer after finishing my preclinical training?

Where do I have to apply? What do I have to do?

I would really appreciate some hints.

Thx,
    Victor

ReputationRep:
    Hi, Victor, welcome to TSR.

Being honest, I don't really know.

As an German national (I presume) and a graduate of an school within the EU you will be able to apply for medicine jobs in the UK.

You may face some discrimination for being German trained but applications for jobs in the UK are blinded - they won't know who you you are where you trained.

I would strongly suggest you speak to your careers service about professional registration and how that applies to the UK because I don't know.

Hope this helps.

ReputationRep:
    As I understand it, German med graduates are expected to do a year like F1 before they're awarded their degrees. So you'd be looking at an F2 level application. Being from the EU you should be treated the same as any UK graduate. Contact the GMC (http://www.gmc-uk.org/about/contacts/index.asp) to make sure you're eligible for full registration and away you go. Look in the BMJ and the NHS jobs website to find jobs you want to apply for.

ReputationRep:
    ok, I´ll check the website. Thanks alot.

But just to make it sure: I´m not looking to work ("job") in the UK after finishing my preclinical training, because I will not enough clinical knowledge whatsoever. I´m just looking to find out if I can continue my medical academic education in the UK. I´m in the 4th semester right now and plan to study here 2 more and then continue in the UK. So where do I have to apply? UCAS? Is it possible?

Thx

ReputationRep:
    It's feasible probably, maybe?

ReputationRep:
    Definitely mate.