erin-lucy28
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm currently studying Psychology with Neuroscience, I've just finished first year with a strong 2:1. I'm aiming to become a forensic psychologist after I graduate, I know that I will have to do a BPS accredited masters followed by 2 years supervised practice.
During my second year, I plan to do plenty of work experience to try and better my chances of getting a graduate job and getting onto the masters. So far, I've got an interview for the alcohol services where I live and I will also be starting work as a support worker in September. I was hoping someone could shed some light onto other areas I could look at.
I've emailed forensic psychologists asking for shadowing opportunities but unfortunately nothing has come up as of yet. I was thinking of volunteering with the Youth Offending Team in my local area when I return to uni in September and I've also found an opportunity in the Witness Protection scheme in my local law courts, however, I'm not sure whether this would be relevant or not. If someone could help me by offering some suggestions or even letting me know if I'm going in the right direction that would be great.
bones-mccoy
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I know someone who volunteered with the courts as a support for victims of crime during the whole trial process. I'm not sure which specific courts use those services but it would be a great opportunity as forensic psychology involves the victims of crimes and not just offenders. If you're over 25, there's an organisation called Trailblazers who work with offenders in YOI's who are in the last 3-6 months of their sentences, giving them both emotional and practical support to prepare them for release into the community. Youth Offending Teams are really worthwhile places to volunteer at, you'll learn a lot from them and your applications will look good.
Last edited by bones-mccoy; 1 year ago
marinade
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago