Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi.

I am studying at a near bottom ranked university this year. Would it be possible to do a masters at MIT or Standford if and when i graduate?

I may be misled but I assumed that you must come from a top ranking university to do a masters degree in a university with worldwide status.

ReputationRep:
    I'm not really sure for MIT but it's not necessarily for Stanford.

Some friends I met at Stanford have undergrad degree from schools that I could no longer remember now. It's that dismal, so to speak.

It's important to have a strong GPA and an excellent GRE score though.

What are you going to major, btw?

ReputationRep:
    if you get a first and nail your application, anything's possible. if you are truly passionate about and talented at your subject, that will no doubt come through. also make sure you're on good terms with a couple of professors. i'd give it a shot.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by cascadingstylez)
    Hi.

I am studying at a near bottom ranked university this year. Would it be possible to do a masters at MIT or Standford if and when i graduate?

I may be misled but I assumed that you must come from a top ranking university to do a masters degree in a university with worldwide status.
    It's not impossible, but it probably would be in your best interest to apply to a few lower ranked schools to avoid disappointment. By the way, you should keep in mind that a masters degree in the US will in all likelihood set you back about 50,000 pounds (including living expenses).

ReputationRep:
    As someone said, you definitely need a first to stand out. Postgrad admission is arguably less competitive since less people apply, but MIT and Standard means a lot of cash and wits.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Chriz)