The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

I was planning on applying to this course starting in 2020 having it as my back up plan if I donā€™t get in to my first choices (Aberdeen or Newcastle) but Iā€™m not sure whether I can even apply to it as it says that this course is offered to those who live in deprived areas or low income areas by which I donā€™t, how ever I could be considered an ethnic minority as I am half Indonesian and half Norwegian, could this allow me to apply to the foundation course? I am studying A level biology OCR A, chemistry OCR B salters and psychology AQA. I also achieved a grade 6 in GCSE maths and a 5 in GCSE English language (hence why Iā€™m not applying to the normal course as I would need a 6 In English language).
Hello rainerrg,
How are you? I can see you are worried about your grades and whether you fufill specific postcode criteria. I would apply for your choices anyway and not worry too much about the different criteria regarding where you live. It may also be worth contacting the recruitment team and a relevant tutor about your concerns so that you can talk about this in a bit more detail and gain some reassurance. If you havn't been in touch yet here, fill in the form and ask someone to contact you back from the International Study Centre. Whilst there may be widening participation there are also other places available too for study. The more information you have about your options, the better informed you will be and the less worried about your future so always ask. I wish you every success and I am sure you will do well!
Original post by rainerrg