issue with flat earther

Watch
8292homsssssbwj
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
i was talking to a flat earther and he put forward the following argument:
if the earth is truly spherical and spins at a much higher velocity than planes, then do planes actually move? wouldn't it make more sense for the plane to simply float and wait for the land to come to it since the earth spins too fast for a plane to actually reach any destination?

i had no response to this. any help?
√-1
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
movement is all relative. So planes do move relative to the earth. I'm not an expert but I think as the earth is soo massive 400 kmh-1 doesn't cause much rotation of the earth. As the earth only fully rotates once a day. Planes travel at a 100kmh-1 put much higher up at an altitude of 37,000 feet . Because of this the distance it has to travel is less than it is on earth (due to its spherical nature). As the distance is less the speed being less doesn't make much of a difference so the plane will move faster than the earth
AsithU
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
"I was talking to a flat earther"

Well there's your problem
√-1
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
well I mean u should still be able to be friends with someone even if they have a different opinion to u
AsithU
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago