The Student Room Group

Migrant Worker

Hello there,

I would like to just confirm some details.

I moved to the UK in October 2016. In October 2017 I did the first year at the Open University - 120 credits and in October 2018 another 120 credits (I got only tuition loan as this was part-time). I have been working for one charity since January 2018 (minimum 16 hours per week) and I decided to move to a brick Uni and I got an offer to transfer 120 credits from the OU.

- I have been living in Europe my whole life.
- I have been living in the UK for almost 3 years.
- I haven't studied anything else except at the OU.
- I do currently earn around £10.000 a year.
- I have no parents
- I am single
- I will probably work for the same charity but I will be relocated

I would like to ask what financial support can I get. Is it true that working 10 hours per week is enough to get a maintenance loan? Can I submit my application now? Will I have to fill out a paper application or would I be able to do it online? Will I have to send you my ID again? If I am going directly into year two, would I be 'new full-time student' or 'continuing'?

Thank you.
Original post by LittleX
Hello there,

I would like to just confirm some details.

I moved to the UK in October 2016. In October 2017 I did the first year at the Open University - 120 credits and in October 2018 another 120 credits (I got only tuition loan as this was part-time). I have been working for one charity since January 2018 (minimum 16 hours per week) and I decided to move to a brick Uni and I got an offer to transfer 120 credits from the OU.

- I have been living in Europe my whole life.
- I have been living in the UK for almost 3 years.
- I haven't studied anything else except at the OU.
- I do currently earn around £10.000 a year.
- I have no parents
- I am single
- I will probably work for the same charity but I will be relocated