Voluntary Placement - Leaving Messages/Gifts Watch

NorthEastSir
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I am thinking about completing a PGCE Primary Education course at University and it was highly recommended for me to gain some experience before applying. Therefore, this summer I am at a primary school where I will be for 4 weeks until the end of the term. I am already half way through.

I am with a Year 6 class and a lot of them are off to my old high school, so I have been giving them tips and information on what it's like, just so it isn't a massive surprise to them.

I am not doing any teaching as such. One, because I have very little knowledge (this is what I would gain during my course) and two, there are very few actual lessons occurring at the minute due to other activities and the time of year it is. However, I have been helping out in the classroom and the children have shown nothing but respect towards me and are always pleasant and well mannered.

I was thinking whilst in bed last night whether I should give them a little card and/or small gift to give to each of the children before the school finishes for summer. The way I look at it is that if I was a teacher and had my own class, I would give them a little card with a message inside for them. But I am a bit unsure with firstly just being a voluntary teaching assistant and secondly, for only being there for a few weeks.

I would appreciate what you guys think!

Thank you!
exams_6700
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
Since they are kids then do a survival kit, so get party bags and put:
balloon - To help you reach for the sky / remind you not to 'blow up'
1 coloured pencil -To make your day bright and colourful
rubber band - to stretch yourself beyond your limits
candle - to light the way and guide you
love heart sweets - remind you that you are loved
rubber (eraser) - remind you each day you can start a new slate