Career Progression from Band 2 MLA in Histopathology Watch

ChloeM231
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I'm about to start a role with the NHS as a Band 2 MLA in Histopathology. I have a BSc in Psychology and an MSc in Translational Neuropathology (with a 20 week placement in a histopathology laboratory.

Just wondering what my career progression might be and how long this is likely to take? At the interview, the lab I will be working for said that they are definitely willing to train me up and would help me become BMS accredited in order to get a trainee BMS position.

However, I have no idea of the potential time frame of this (e.g. do you go straight from band 2 MLA to band 5 trainee BMS?).

Any advice would be appreciated!
shadowdweller
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by ChloeM231)
I'm about to start a role with the NHS as a Band 2 MLA in Histopathology. I have a BSc in Psychology and an MSc in Translational Neuropathology (with a 20 week placement in a histopathology laboratory.

Just wondering what my career progression might be and how long this is likely to take? At the interview, the lab I will be working for said that they are definitely willing to train me up and would help me become BMS accredited in order to get a trainee BMS position.

However, I have no idea of the potential time frame of this (e.g. do you go straight from band 2 MLA to band 5 trainee BMS?).

Any advice would be appreciated!
Hey, sorry you haven't had an answer to this yet - just giving it a quick bump, so hopefully someone will be along soon

I'm afraid this isn't my area of expertise, but please do quote me if you've not had a response in a few days, and I'll see what I can do?
Jamesd37dhd
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago