The Student Room Group

This discussion is now closed.

Check out other Related discussions

Football players earning more than Doctors - is this right?

How do you feel about professional football players earning much, much more than doctors? Is this morally correct? What are your opinions?
Can this be justified?
Would love all of your opinions, thnx.

Scroll to see replies

Yes, I am a doctor, and I think it is justified due to the huge amount of revenue that professional football generates.
Football players work very hard, I don't think the majority realise how hard they work, they see them on the pitch and think that's it, that being said a doctor also works extremely hard and does what's arguably a much more beneficial job, but at the end of the day footballers are celebrities, and celebrities get the chunky dough.
People care more about football than healthcare so... yeah, it makes sense.

I mean, I personally don't really care about football and find it amazing that people actually pay to watch grown men cry and roll around on the ground, but that is what the people want so.
Reply 5
If they were paid out of the same pot you'd have a case for it being weird.

But they're not. So it's redundant. An old, clichéd and pointless argument that's been had about 35,000 times before.
I believe in a more equitable distribution of wealth in society in general. I don't have a specific gripe about footballers earning more than doctors.

The footballers vs doctors/nurses/soldiers question really misses the point imho.

Footballers are hardly the pinaccle of mind boggling extreme wealth anyway - Jeff Bezos anyone?
Original post by TheNamesBond.
Football players work very hard,

No they don't. They run around a bit and when tackled roll around on the floor, unlike their female counterparts.

They are worth their money from a pure economics pov but their value to society as a whole is not equal to what the earn.