tashajk31
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi, I am studying an access to Midwifery course through learndirect and have been asked to produce a journal article on intrapartum care. I have been Googling this for hours and still cant make sense of what one is or how to even begin writing one! Does anyone know what they are and how I should lay it out etc?
stabilo20619
Badges: 9
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 2 years ago
A journal article is a short piece of writing focusing on one topic in a lot of detail, often with diagrams and scientific images. The articles are written by scientists/medical professionals and then submitted to the journal company for review of the information in the article. Then the article is published online and in a paper journal for the public/other scientists to read.

You should lay it out like the image attached.

1. Title at the top, big and bold.
2. Your name underneath
3. A summary of the article (250 words)
4. The main article text: introduction first, then the main information, then the conclusion
5. References at the end (harvard or vancouver style)

This is the link to the full article as an example
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/art...pdf/ddq160.pdf
Attached files
Last edited by stabilo20619; 2 years ago
Jackie 2019
Badges: 8
Rep:
Report 2 years ago
Stabilo20619

Thanks for your help l have been searching for the same help please? I have done the Harvard referencing when l did my access to nursing and l understand the format and l am in trouble as l can’t really understand how to use the journals! All was explained well at uni but how to do it seems to be very hectic!