Library noise at Oxford Watch

anythingyouwish
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
I'm a student at Trinity College in Dublin. Just wondering how quiet Oxford libraries are. Here, people are great at obeying the no-talking rule - top-notch. But it would seem anything else goes. Dropping bags down on tables, dragging chairs, loud headphones, continuous unmuffled coughing, etc. Is it the same at Oxford too?

Not sure what I want the answer to be. If the answer is no, then I hate my peers. If it's yes, than I hate humanity.
LostLioness
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I doubt either answer will induce a healthy emotion in you. You seem overtly irritated. Just don't go to the library and find another area for some quiet work. Besides, library is always full of people who breathe like the world is resting on their shoulder and it stresses me out too. I avoid it like the plague.
Last edited by LostLioness; 1 week ago
LostLioness
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
An honest admission: I am the 'furious typer' and so I get looks for it. If you are the 'dirty look giver', I am sure you will find another area of study more welcoming.
A Rolling Stone
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
loud headphones is obviously an issue. as for the rest, i would ask yourself if there may be a mental health issue related to solitude as you should not be put off by such little things
(Original post by anythingyouwish)
I'm a student at Trinity College in Dublin. Just wondering how quiet Oxford libraries are. Here, people are great at obeying the no-talking rule - top-notch. But it would seem anything else goes. Dropping bags down on tables, dragging chairs, loud headphones, continuous unmuffled coughing, etc. Is it the same at Oxford too?

Not sure what I want the answer to be. If the answer is no, then I hate my peers. If it's yes, than I hate humanity.
A Rolling Stone
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago