Does the university you get a DClinPsy at matter? What undergrad grade is needed?

Watch
robininthewind
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 months ago
Hi,

I'm currently a second year psych undergrad at Uni of Bath. I want to be a clinical psychologist, so I need a DClinPsy. The DClinPsy is very competitive and knowing this has caused me a lot of stress in my second year in terms of getting the highest grades possible. Now that the year is over I'm spending some time to think further about my path to clinical psychology. I hope that by getting a more accurate picture on the entry requirements to the DClinPsy, I can manage my expectations and standards better in the upcoming years of my undergrad.

My first question would be whether or not the uni you get your DClinPsy at matters. With an undergrad, it does matter. A degree from Oxbridge is better than a degree from a lot of other unis. What about with DClinPsy? If you get a DClinPsy from Oxford or Bath (which I imagine are fairly 'prestigous' unis for clinical psych) is it any better than getting a DClinPsy from Cardiff or Southampton for example. Are the entry requirements different? From the info I can find most unis just state 2:1 or above. But is it tougher to get into Oxford than Southampton? And when I ask 'does it matter' I guess what I'm mainly asking is whether or not it affects your chances of employment. Most people go on to work for the NHS after getting a DClinPsy, but once you have the qualification, is your chance at employment fairly guarenteed? In which case, does it really matter what uni you go to for a DClinPsy?

Sidenote: I am aware that different unis have different teaching styles and my teach different materials as well, as that is important when deciding on your DClinPsy uni. I'm mainly asking about whether prestige exists within the DClinPsy unis and whether it's important or not.