QTS skills tests to be scrapped Watch

Sceptical_John
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Exclusive in this weeks schoolsweek so can't link to it yet.

What a big waste of time and money all that was.
Tolgarda
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
What? Really? I wonder what they will replace it with. I'm only 17, but I'm an aspiring teacher that wants to eventually study a PGCE. This is most interesting.
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
The link is here:
https://schoolsweek.co.uk/qts-skills...o-be-scrapped/

It doesn't sound like anything has been officially announced yet, which is probably why it's not being widely publicised.

The plan to replace it with individual unis setting their own tests sounds good in theory- as hopefully it'll be less hassle for candidates. However, if they're individual tests set by unis, there may be less chance to practice them and I wonder what will happen if candidates fail? I could see this actually becoming more of a barrier to some candidates if it's not managed well.
Sceptical_John
Rep:
?
(Original post by SarcAndSpark)
The link is here:
https://schoolsweek.co.uk/qts-skills...o-be-scrapped/

It doesn't sound like anything has been officially announced yet, which is probably why it's not being widely publicised.

The plan to replace it with individual unis setting their own tests sounds good in theory- as hopefully it'll be less hassle for candidates. However, if they're individual tests set by unis, there may be less chance to practice them and I wonder what will happen if candidates fail? I could see this actually becoming more of a barrier to some candidates if it's not managed well.
That seems unlikely to me as the point in scrapping is the desperate need for more teachers. My guess is it will just be a judgement by the ITT provider if you are capable or not.
Sahmed.
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I've got my tests next week I hope they scrap it before then 😂
SarcAndSpark
Rep:
?