Proportional Representation Watch

morganr005
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Now I learned that according to the Liberal Democrat's manifesto, I have related quite a lot to some of their view points, however I noticed they want electoral reform which involves changing the system to a proportional representation one. I studied the effects this had on Weimar Germany in the 1920s and I was wondering what everyone else thinks about it. Why do they want this?
violinem
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Hey, no political system is perfect and the benefit of PR is that everyone gets a say. If you vote for the lib dems in a tory area (let's say over 50% of people usually vote tory and less than 10% vote lib dem and around 40% usually vote labour) then your voice will actually be heard rather than be ignored. It means you don't feel like you have to vote labour to knock the tories out because you can vote lib dem and your vote will actually matter (this is an example using just 3 parties and not about my political beliefs).
I personally quite like the d'Hondt method (a specific method of PR).

Things go wrong everywhere and I don't think PR is really why things went wrong in the Weimar Republic. It definitely contributed to the problems but I think there were other issues that far outweighed the use of PR.
The difficulty with PR is that it's harder to get a decision through parliament... but then again parliament recently hasn't made many decisions anyway so I'm not sure how big a deal that is currently.

I think the lib dems want PR because of how many more seats they'd have if the system was PR. Here's what they'd have had in 2015 providing everyone voted what they did at the time even though it was PR: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/election-2015-32601281
(Original post by morganr005)