Management consulting?

Watch this thread
jackman2020
Badges: 4
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I am a undergrad at Warwick studying politics and history and looking pursuing consulting. I have A*A*A at a level - will I have a good chance, or will it still be incredbly difficult for me to secure a place at a top firm, not being from Oxbridge/UCL/LSE?

Are the hours really that bad or is this exaggarated? Are they better than investment banking?

What kind of salaries are expected? I know £32K is approximate for the big four graduate programmes but what do they rise to/would you expect the average graduate to be on 5, 10, 15+ years later?

How much really do you have to travel?
Last edited by jackman2020; 2 years ago
jackman2020
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
(Original post by ltsmith)
do you have any internships in management consulting or related fields?

also do you have any connections or a network?
No- I have just completed my first year. I am looking at internships for the summer of my penultimate year (next summer), and consulting is looking like the best sector so far, but I have a few questions first!

No connections sadly
ItsSC
Badges: 6
Rep:
Report 2 years ago
Hi! I applied and got a summer placement with one of the big four (PwC) and I am from a non target uni, actually not even a Uk uni but an Italian one.In terms of education I had a 42 at the IB and predicted a First (equivalent) for my degree. But I didn’t have any relevant work experience or anything! And certainly no connections.There’s quite a few warwick students on this internship, so honestly just give it a shot! And be prepared for rejection. I got rejected from the other three as well as numerous other internships. It depends on what each one is looking for.Good luck!