The Student Room Group

Dentistry 2020 Applicants

Hi Guys, I'm a year 12 student and I am going to apply to Dentistry! I have visited my chosen university open days, so I am 100% sure this is the course I wish to pursue! I am going to apply to Liverpool, Manchester, Sheffield and Birmingham, with my 5th option being Optometry at Manchester! Ive got my UCAT test on the 20th August and I am a Liverpool Scholar. I'm studying Biology, chemistry and psychology and predicted A's. A Liverpool scholar gets a reduced grade offer of ABB instead of AAA and the dentistry department have come back in contact with me to tell me that if I am predicted ABB and have a good UCAT score (they have no cut off) with band 1/2 in sjt, they will give me an interview! They have already read my personal statement and are more than happy to give me an interview! SO excited as I'm one step closer hopefully! I've had work experience in a Dental practice and a dental department at a hospital, also I'm looking out to do more!

I want to hear everyone else's journey to Dentistry, as all I ever hear about is Medicine applicants :biggrin: !

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Very cool, and very well prepared! Good luck for your future interviews and application process, look forward to hearing about it! :smile:
Aw, thank you very much, i really appreciate this :smile:
Original post by Deggs_14
Very cool, and very well prepared! Good luck for your future interviews and application process, look forward to hearing about it! :smile:
Reply 3
I hope you get your interviews! I have just finished year 11, and currently waiting on my GCSEs. What grades did you get, I'm curious. Can you please explain what a Liverpool scholar is? I also really want to apply for dentistry!