UCAS application Watch

Matstu77
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi there

I am new to the forum so hi 👋

I am looking to go to uni in September as a mature student. I applied in December but sadly was declined as I have no formal qualifications and no experience of work within the degree I applied for - so fair enough.

I want to apply through clearing for the Business Management & HR degree at the same uni that rejected me for the other course. I have 18 years experience of owning and running a company as well as currently working in HR so I’m hoping my chances are better now.

My question is, as my personal statement done 6 months and has already been submitted so I can’t change it, is the uni likely to see me as flighty for changing my mind in 6 months? I am sure when I call them tomorrow I will be able to submit on manually (I’m hoping) but any advice on this would be appreciated.

Thanks
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Lots of people change their mind between autumn applications and clearing, so this alone won't be a barrier to entry- most unis will accept that people change their mind and will consider applicants who've changed their mind in clearing.

When you phone, do treat it like a phone interview- so be prepared to explain your change of mind over the phone. Some unis may also want an additional PS, so there's no harm in writing one, but most unis will make their decision over the phone at this stage.
Admit-One
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Matstu77)
Hi there

I am new to the forum so hi 👋

I am looking to go to uni in September as a mature student. I applied in December but sadly was declined as I have no formal qualifications and no experience of work within the degree I applied for - so fair enough.